John Lyman Book Award Submission Guidelines

The John Lyman Book Prize Committee for The North American Society for Oceanic History ( makes awards in the following six categories:


Canadian naval and maritime history

U.S. naval history

U.S. maritime history

Naval and maritime science and technology

Naval and maritime reference works and published primary sources

Naval and maritime biography and autobiography


Books published during the year 2018 or bearing a copyright date of the year 2018 qualify for consideration for an award, to be made at the annual meeting in May 2019. If your press is interested in submitting books for the award, they must be submitted by February 1, 2019.


Please send copies to each of the five committee members:


William H. Flayhart, III

39 Stuart Drive

Dover, DE 19901

(302) 697-0559


Paul E. Fontenoy

North Carolina Maritime Museum

315 Front Street

Beaufort, NC 28516

(252) 504-7756


Christine Keiner

RIT College of Liberal Arts

Building 6

92 Lomb Memorial Drive

Rochester, NY 14623-5604

(585) 475-4698


Joshua M. Smith

11 Bernard Street, 2 Floor

Port Washington, NY 11050

(516) 773-5258


David Winkler

Naval Historical Foundation

1306 Dahlgren Avenue, SE

Washington Navy Yard

Washington, DC 20374-5055

(202) 678-4333


If you have any questions, please contact the committee chair:


Paul E. Fontenoy, Ph.D.

Curator of Maritime Research & Technology

North Carolina Maritime Museums

NC Dept. of Natural and Cultural Resources

315 Front Street  |  Beaufort, North Carolina 28516


Email correspondence to and from this address is subject to the

North Carolina Public Records Law and may be disclosed to third parties.